Dinner Recommendations from Father Brad

vegetarian-valentine-dinner-recipe-ravioli-hearts_large

In my office, I have a speaker that is tied into church.  It’s one of my favorite things about my office, as I can always hear what’s going on over there — both very useful and quite fun.

I came in a few minutes later than usual this morning, only to hear the tail end of morning Mass.  Father Brad likes to make dinner recommendations (or sometimes, beverage recommendations) for the day based on different solemnities or memorials.

Today is the Feast of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, one of the most common devotions in the Catholic Church today. That is why many people are surprised to find out that the Feast of the Sacred Heart was not celebrated until fairly recently.

Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus took root first in France, but it took the visions of St. Margaret Mary Alacoque (1647-1690) for the devotion to become universal. In 1856, Pope Pius IX decreed that the feast should be celebrated by the universal Church, in reparation for our ingratitude for the sacrifice that Christ has made for us.

Since the Feast of the Sacred Heart always falls 19 days after Pentecost Sunday, it is almost always celebrated in June, which is why June is known as the Month of the Sacred Heart. It can also fall in July, however–the Month of the Precious Blood of Jesus. These two months, and the feast they share, lead us to meditate on the connection between Christ’s Precious Blood, the instrument of our salvation through His Sacrifice on the Cross, and His Sacred Heart, which represents His mercy toward mankind.

Father Brad’s dinner recommendation for the Feast of the Sacred Heart:  Enjoy something that makes your heart happy!

I asked Father Brad what he’s having for dinner, and he said “sweetbreads.”  I don’t think there’s anything in my refrigerator that makes my heart happy, so I’m calling my husband to tell him we have to go out.  Father Brad said we had to.

O Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.