What’s Really Important?

thumbtack_note_important_1(2)[2]

From our Guest Blogger, Michael Steinhardt:

Conservative columnist and baseball devotee George Will once said of the “national pastime,” “Every day is a new opportunity. You can build on yesterday’s success or put its failures behind and start over again. That’s the way life is, with a new game every day, and that’s the way baseball is.”  While this observation might resonate with many people, I acknowledge that I have let the fortunes of my favorite team become more important than other more important things going on in the world.  

You would think that a person my age would have gotten accustomed to swings in the fortunes of the Milwaukee Brewers without allowing it affect my mood, my outlook, and my world view.  Maybe I should back off and consider Mr. Will’s admonition beyond the context of baseball.  Perhaps I ought to give more time to looking at other things going on around me and how they relate to the success or failures of life more so than the score of the Brewers latest game which is usually just another loss.      

Awhile back I was sitting in my favorite coffee place one morning scrambling for the Sports Section to find the details of the Brewers’ game the night before.  In doing so, I later occurred to me that I had skipped over and given only a passing thought to stories, for example, about the meager progress in infant mortality among minority populations, the high volume of acuity for psychiatric crisis services in local hospitals, a fair way to accommodate currently illegal immigrants as citizens, and the adverse effects of early rain and dipping temperatures on the economy.  In doing so, I had precluded any chance that they too should affect my mood, my outlook, and my world view without ignoring the Brewers.  In many instances, for many people a new day does not offer a “new opportunity” and a chance to put “failures behind and start over again.” 

In the course of many business trips before I retired, I took interest of the people I observed in restaurants and airports and particularly the order in which they read the newspapers they read.  I theorized that this said a lot about their priorities.  I assigned those who chose the Entertainment Section as being the most shallow followed in short by those that went right to the Sports Section (my choice); next came those reading the Business Section; and finally those who chose the World News.  I am now – not at all related to the feeble Brewers – reconsidering this habit once again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Really Important?

  1. I enjoyed your blog very much. When traveling while working I often watched which section of the
    paper those at breakfast read first. Now I look at the Local section first, because I need my coffee before I take on the USA, and world News.
    Enjoy your day.

Comments are closed.