Love Stories

ResizedImage_1364013114938

Our older son, Alex, came home from college for spring break two weeks ago.  Our preschooler, Seth, was so excited about his big brother coming home.  He talked about it for days.  On the Friday Alex arrived home, Seth and I were driving home from St. Dominic’s, and our conversation went something like this:

Seth:  “Alex is home?”

Me:  “Yes, Alex is home.  We’ll see him when we get there.  What are you going to do when you see Alex?”

Seth: “Give him kisses.”

We arrived home, and after hugs and kisses were exchanged, Seth turned around toward me, pushed me out the door and said:

“Bye!  Bye!  Mommy go back to work now!”

Feeling the love here, kid.  Just feeling the love.  For this, I went through 5 hours of labor.

Thankfully, I don’t take these things personally.  As I headed back to St. Dominic’s a few minutes later (I really did have to come back in for a meeting), I laughed to myself while driving and thought, “Wow, wouldn’t it be nice if I had someone who loved me THAT much.  If only I had a fan club!”

Later that night, as I reviewed my day and prayed in thanksgiving for all of the gifts I received, I realized I’d missed something really basic — I am loved THAT much.  Sometimes, I’m a little slow.  I’ve been thinking about this ever since.

This weekend, we celebrate Passion Sunday, and hear again of Jesus’ entrance into Jerusalem, and the events that lead up to his crucifixion.  The Passion isn’t just a story of a man years ago who met a horrific death….it’s our story, your story, my story.  More than anything, it’s a love story…..a story of our God who loved us so much that he died on the cross so we’d never be alone.  Or be afraid.  Ever.

manger-crown-crop1

You know how the story begins, and how it ends.  Hear it with new ears this weekend.  If you’ve never thought of the Passion of Jesus as a love story, listen to it in a new way.  It’s not just a love story of how much God loved His people.  It’s a love story of how much God loved you.  And me.  And Bob, and Ron, and Pat, and Dan, and Christine, and every single one of us.  It’s a personal love story.  That’s the great news — you are loved that much.  You do have a fan club.

And in those moments when I let that sink in….then I find God so much more easily in my everyday, mundane life, and become more aware of everyday grace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Stories

  1. ronmulvaney says:

    Nice reminder, Susan. Thanks. Ron Mulvaney

  2. Meg says:

    Whenever I find myself face to face with THAT love, that unconditional love of God, I can’t keep my eyes from tearing, a physical response to feeling so humbled and yet, there is also a joy deep within.

Comments are closed.